FIAR – Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

We eased back into a more relaxed homeschool routine – for the time being, anyway – with Robert Frost’s famous poem, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.”

credit: Amazon.com

Geography/History/Social Studies
Obviously, the story takes place in winter so we discussed the seasons, especially New England winters, and located the New England states on a map.  I had the kiddos look through the book and tell me all the animals they could find, hiding in the forest.

Language Arts
Since this book is basically an illustrated poem, we took the chance to create some of our own poetry.  I gave the kiddos a simple definition of poetry and let them work on a few easy poems – a list poem, a “winter” acrostic poem and an animal-shaped poem.  Gwen was a bit more enthusiastic about the idea but she still got weary trying to make the words fit.

Talking about all those animals must have inspired them, because Josiah got out their Little People Zoo Playset, which they haven’t played with in a while.  I helped him find all the animals and match them up with the correct letters.

Fine Arts
We made simple snowmen pointillisms using black construction paper, white paint and q-tips.  We read Snip, Snip, Snow and made paper snowflakes; Gwen was so excited to unfold her paper and see the design!  I wanted to make edible snowflakes using wheat tortillas, but someone packed them for his lunch that morning – oh well! Instead I got creative with ingredients, making a snow-white snack with yogurt, coconut, white chocolate chips and snowflake sprinkles.

Science
We read a couple books – including Crinkleroot’s Book of Animal Tracking – and discussed animal tracks and how to spot them.  The kiddos played a couple matching games, trying to match up animals with their footprints.  I didn’t know that all cats – both wild and domestic – retract their claws when they walk, so you can’t see the claw marks.  I learn right along with them!  I had planned on making homemade play dough for footprints in the snow to go along with animal tracking but didn’t get around to it.

We attempted borax crystals a while back and I was so disappointed that they didn’t work. I was determined to try it again, and after letting the mix sit overnight, I was delighted to see that it worked this time!

Go-along books
Forest Child
Into the woods : John James Audubon lives his dream
The Snowman (and DVD)
The Snowy Day
Snip, Snip… Snow!
Falling Down the Page: a book of list poems
Sing a Song of Popcorn: every child’s book of poems
Crinkleroot’s Book of Animal Tracking
Tracks in the Snow

Resources
Activity Village’s winter acrostic
Let’s Explore’s list poems
Teacher Vision’s animal shape poems
Montessori for Everyone’s animal tracks cards
Enchanted Learning’s borax crystals

*See my FIAR Pinterest board for more ideas & inspiration.

2 thoughts on “FIAR – Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

  1. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and in depth information you present.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • Thanks so much for the compliment! My mom was a teacher, then she homeschooled us for a number of years, and finally became a teacher where my siblings and I attended high school (a private Christian school). I never thought I would homeschool my own children – especially because I’ve learned exactly how small my patience reserves are! – but I follow in my mom’s footsteps in that I like to take something and make it my own.

      I enjoy writing about what I/we do, but you also may have noticed that I haven’t been updating as much. It’s a lot of work! I’ve been keeping up with it, though, and you can find many of the resources I use on my Pinterest boards.

Comments are closed.