This Week

This week has been a busy one. 

We brought Josiah into the hospital for minor surgery.  Recently he was diagnosed with both lyme disease and a hernia (both inguinal and umbilical - though the latter should resolve itself on its own).  I was really discouraged at first, but the diagnoses looked really good and Josiah has been the healthiest of all of us (I swear it’s the extended nursing and alternative vaccine schedule).

I didn’t get as emotional as I thought I would since we were waiting for a while and I was more concerned with making sure he was alright.  I had to get all gowned and masked up to take him into the operating room, where I was allowed to hold him while they put him to sleep.  They said he would start to get fidgety once the bubble gum-smelling gas turned nasty, but he just stayed there, getting limp.  Before I knew it, they were taking him off my lap and putting him on the table and I gave him a kiss before they whisked me outside.  I think the hardest part was actually seeing him afterwards – still doped up, and once he finally came to he kept crying that he hurt and his voice was all raspy from the breathing tube.  


He was tired for most of the day and one of his legs was numb so he couldn’t walk - and actually fell over and hit his head!  Poor little guy.  Phil went to work the next day and I told him that he was back to his “usual, slightly annoying self,” saying no and refusing to share with his big sister. 

This kind of experience puts things into perspective… but it still doesn’t make it easy when the kiddos misbehave.  Boy, how I was wishing for more of that medicine to knock them out!  Lately I’ve found myself in tears much of the time, the way the kiddos act when they’re with me.  It’s like they think I’m a joke as a mother, totally ignore me and disobey, and it’s only when I go all apeshit on them (without wanting to, of course) that they sober up and realize I mean business. *sigh*  When Daddy’s home it’s a different story; sure, they’ll misbehave, but they pay attention to him and he doesn’t have to repeat himself a million times a day.  He knew I was having a hard time of it and surprised me with a beautiful bouquet of flowers.


One of the things that drives me absolutely insane is when the kids take out every single toy they own – including baskets of blocks, tiny LEGO pieces, puzzles, pom poms, board games and their many pieces, in addition to the usual dolls and cars and so forth - and throw them around the house.  I try to let them be creative and not get on their case every two seconds about putting things away, but they inevitably fuss and whine when I tell them it’s time to pick up.  Gwen will slump over and say she’s too tired; Josiah will matter-of-factly say, “don’t want to.”  It’s either punish them over and over or do it myself.  I finally decided something had to be done and went on a cleaning spree.  Sure, I’ve simplified in the past, but I got more serious about it and took a lot of toys ‘n’ stuff out of rotation.  I cleaned off their bookshelves, reorganized a big cupboard with games and toys, cleaned up their rooms and rearranged some of the furniture to be more conducive to our new season of homeschool – which we start tomorrow! 

Ah… it feels so nice and clean… I better enjoy it while it lasts. 

I never got around to blueberry-picking this year, which we usually do, but earlier this week we made our annual trip to a nearby orchard for fresh peaches.  If you’ve never had a fresh peach or nectarine, you haven’t really lived!  I’d say fresh peaches are one of my all-time favorite fruits, and the stuff at the store just doesn’t compare.  We filled two bags, overflowing the brims, and have been eating them like crazy.  I’m hoping to make a peach pie and peach shortbread, but I don’t know if we’ll have enough at the rate they’re disappearing!

I met with the lady who’s going to place my handmade items in her store so I’ve been on a sewing rampage.  I’m getting really excited about this venture and hope it works out!  I wanted to have some more samples of my work to show her so I cranked out some crayon rolls, cedar sachets, another clothespin apron and some orange spice therapy bags (I sold the one I had in my Etsy shop!).  Since I’m trying to build up the inventory for her store I haven’t stocked more items online but am hoping to do so in the future. 

Oh – and I got my sew-in labels just in time!  They seemed a bit on the thin side, especially because I can’t fold them, but I love the layered look with fabric scraps.

