Squash Out the Wazoo

I love that our garden is giving us an abundance of produce but, let’s face it, it can be pretty boring eating the same ol’ veggies all the time.  I finally decided to blanch and freeze some of it before it went bad, but I also don’t want to be limited to a specific way of preparing them since they can get mushy once frozen. 

It seems I was in the same quandry last year, and sure enough, I had bookmarked a whole bunch of ideas for using up Summer squash and zucchini.  I thought I’d share just in case some of you are looking for some fresh ideas…

For the Love of Cooking’s Vegetable Tian


Curious Country Cook’s Zucchini Tots

Kayotic Kitchen’s Stuffed Zucchini

Cooking.com’s Oven-Fried Zucchini Sticks

Etsy’s Spicy Zucchini Pickles

Martha Stewart’s Zucchini-Scallion Fritters

Cooking With My Kid’s Squash Blossom Quesadillas

Lick the Bowl Good’s Chocolate Zucchini Cake

Simple Bite’s Wheat Zucchini Bread with Cinnamon & Dark Chocolate Chunks

What are some of your favorite ways to prepare squash? 

2 thoughts on “Squash Out the Wazoo

  1. WOW!! Thanks. My old favorite, not having tried these, is zucchini fritters flavors with Old Bay seasoning – gives it a faux crab cake vibe. Excellent.

Comments are closed.