No-Bake Granola Bars

Whenever I set out to make granola bars I always end up with, well, just granola.  I’ve tried different recipes, determined to find a suitable alternative for Phil to pack in his lunches.  Storebought bars not only contain additives and unnecessary ingredients, they’re also ridiculously high in sugar.

When I saw this recipe for No-Bake Chocolate Chip Granola Bars on Pinterest I just knew I had to try ‘em – with a few changes, of course.  I was hoping if I made 1 1/2 times the recipe it would fit nicely in one of my jelly roll pans, but I was still a little off (luckily, you can mold the mixture to fit so it’s not a big deal if your pan is too big).  I’m thinking doubling it will do the trick.

I omitted the brown sugar altogether and opted for a mixture of honey and maple syrup, considerably less than the recipe called for.  And although I don’t usually buy cereal, except for old-fashioned oats, I found whole grain crispy rice cereal just for this recipe.  Throw in some natural peanut butter, chopped nuts and dates, some dark chocolate chips, and you’ve got some yummy granola bars!  I did stick ‘em in the fridge so they wouldn’t be too soft to cut into and they turned out perfect.  Phil says they taste almost like rice krispy treats!

 

This is what I’m going to try next time around, basically doubling the main ingredients but getting rid of excess sugar:

1/4c butter
1/4-1/3c natural peanut butter
1/4c honey
1/4c maple syrup
4c old-fashioned oats
2c whole grain crispy rice cereal      
2t vanilla
1/4c dark chocolate chips
*nuts, dried fruit, coconut, etc.

3 thoughts on “No-Bake Granola Bars

    • Yeah, I had to buy the cereal especially for the recipe. I’ll bet you could try substituting something else, though, like another kind of cereal if you have it.

Comments are closed.