Natural Deodorant and My Purple Bathroom

Back when I was researching homemade toothpaste I also decided to start looking into making my own deodorant.  Many of the store-bought brands contain harmful or simply questionable ingredients and the eco-friendly brands can be uber-expensive.    

Since I already had most of the ingredients on hand I decided to whip up a batch, loosely combining Angry Chicken’s homemade deodorant recipe with Passionate Homemaking’s arrowroot version.

6-8T coconut oil, melted
1/4c baking soda
1/4c arrowroot powder
vitamin E oil (I used a few drops)
essential oil (I used a mixture of orange & spearmint)

Mix all the ingredients together and store in a glass jar (I think I put it in the fridge to set up).  I’ve read that some people re-purpose old deodorant containers, but when it’s warm in the house it may not keep it’s shape.  Since it has started getting warm the semi-solid mixture has been relatively soft, whereas during the winter I need to rub off a little chunk and warm it in my fingers before applying; I just apply it with my fingers (like a lotion) under my arms before getting dressed. 

I’ve been using this on and off for a while now (sometimes I get lazy and use my hubby’s) and love it.  At first I worried about oil stains on my clothing but haven’t had any problems with it.  The scent is mild and pleasant and I would be curious to try another scent but I have quite a bit of the orange and spearmint essential oils on hand already!

This sits on the bathroom counter along with our toothpaste, makeup brushes and various other toiletries.  Which leads me to one of my favorite rooms in the house: our upstairs bathroom. 

 
When we were picking out paint colors (read: when Phil broke down and let me go beyond white) I decided I wanted my house to be cheerful and filled with color.  I picked something different for each room!  I used green for the downstairs bathroom but wanted to try something different for the one upstairs.  The first shade of purple we tried was awful, and we finally went with a deep amethyst.

Even though it was expensive, we seriously considered white pebble tile (something like this) for the flooring; even Phil agreed it would be gorgeous.  We did pick out some alternatives just in case, and finally decided to stay within a reasonable budget and go with a greyish-brown tile.  I’m so glad we did!  The dark tones in the tile go really nicely with the purple.   

When we got an antique dresser for free, I begged Phil to turn it into a bathroom bureau with a sink on top.  We chose a square-shaped shallow sink which only utilizes a portion of the upper dresser so the majority of it is free for storage.  I LOVE it!  Phil is so handy. 

when it was first installed

Along with the tile and dresser, I incorporated some more of the rich brown element by getting a deep brown curtain for the bathroom closet.  To keep it light and airy we mixed some cream-colored tile with purple, bead-board for the lower wall (as yet unfinished, like so many things around our house), a sheer curtain for the window and a beautiful shabby chic white ruffled shower curtain (that used to hang in our bedroom!). 

  
    
Do you have a favorite room in your home? 

Aside from the bathroom I love our upstairs loft, which we use surprisingly often (Phil and I often curl up on the couch and watch a movie after the kids have gone to bed), and our open living room, where we spend much of our day. 

*For more homemade inspiration see my Eco-Friendly Pinterest board.  

