Chocolate Chip Coconut Oatmeal

I first fell in love with Chocolate Covered Katie‘s healthy desserts when I stumbled upon her Fudge Babies recipe and decided to whip up a batch.  And proceeded to eat them all.  I’ve since been making my way through her recipes, and let me tell you, I have not been disappointed. 

I’m not a big fan of oatmeal – I just can’t get past the texture – but when I saw her recipe for Coconut Cookie Dough Oatmeal, I knew I had to try it for the kiddos and myself.  Since I wanted to make three portions, I multuplied the original recipe times three and made my own little tweaks.  Here’s my version: 

1 1/2c old-fashioned oats
2T coconut palm sugar (or rapadura, maple syrup, or other natural sugar)
3/4c unsweetened applesauce
1t vanilla extract
3/4c milk (combination buttermilk & almond milk)
3T melted coconut oil
2T unsweetened shredded coconut
handful of dark chocolate chips

In the past, I’ve had better success with the texture of the oatmeal when I’ve soaked the oats overnight, so I did the same here.  I mixed the oats with the milk(s) and let it sit on the counter overnight (if using milk other than buttermilk, I would put it in the fridge).  In the morning, I added the other ingredients, put it in a small casserole, and baked it for 10-15 minutes in my little convection toaster oven set around 375.  

This was a huge success – definitely a keeper in my book!  I topped it with a little extra coconut milk to cool it off for the kiddos and they gobbled it right down.  Nothing like starting the day off with chocolate! 

I’d love to try this with coconut milk and coconut extract to make it really coconut-y, and maybe some chopped almonds to make it Almond Joy Oatmeal – yum!

