Preschool: P is for Pirate

Arrrrrr, I’m so behind posting preschool stuff!  And our pirate week was pretty fun. I didn’t get around to all the ideas floating around in my head, but we still did a lot.  I love describing all the things we do each week but I think I may be putting too much pressure on myself with all the details. 

Bible
Our Bible verse was about the calling of the twelve disciples, and one morning when I asked Gwen what Jesus’ followers were called – reminding her that it started with the letter “D” – she responded with “dementors.”  Can you tell she likes Harry Potter?  She colored a D is for disciple coloring page and got pretty good at her memory verse using the printable from Homeschool Creation’s pirate lapbook – Matthew 6:21 Where your treasure is there your heart will be also.

Theme
P is for pirates, of course!  The kiddos just got some pirate costumes for their birthdays (thanks to Halloween clearance)…

 

and I outfitted them with pirate hats, eye patches and mustaches printed out on cardstock. 

  

We made popsicle stick treasure boxes and the kids had lots of fun decorating them with their markers and hiding keepsakes inside. 

 


I didn’t get around to the more elaborate sensory bin I had in mind, but did throw together some treasure-y items in a small pan (plastic gold coins, mardi gras beads, plastic rocks, real rocks, some of Gwen’s dress-up jewelry, beads, etc.).  They had fun collecting their booty.

 

One of my new favorite websites for resources is education.com, where I found a paper puppet pirate printable (say that ten times fast).  I printed it out on cardstock and used metal brads to attach all the pieces together.   

 

Letter
Gwen worked on a number of activities from 2 Teaching Mommie’s pirate unit, including a Do-A-Dot page, pre-writer tracing, uppercase and lowercase matching and spelling with scrabble tiles.

 

Josiah happily worked on his own worksheets.

 

The kiddos used the letter poster to make pom pom Ps…

 

and Totally Tot’s p is for parrot craft went along nicely with our theme!

Education.com’s worksheet section is pretty awesome, and I’ve been using their Letters of the Alphabet, Beginning Reading: All About the Letter…, and Letter Mazes (all of which we did for the letter P).  I appreciate the fresh approach to identifying the letters.

Number
Gwen used the counting clip cards from the pirate unit to identify numbers and worked on a number puzzle all by herself. 

 

While Gwen did her puzzle Josiah played with his Melissa & Doug animal magnets.

We’ve also been doing number dot-to-dot pages, and education.com had one in the shape of a pirate ship.

Color
Appropriately, the color of the week was black.  We did some coloring pages and 1+1+1=1′s color puzzles.

Rhyme
Originally I went with ABCJLM’s list of rhymes and songs for each week, but here and there I’ve substituted those that went along with my theme.  I was psyched when I discovered education.com’s Nursery Rhyme ABC’s, with a rhyme for each letter of the alphabet!  This week we did Peter Piper, and both kids got a kick out of all the “p” sounds.  Gwen actually memorized the first line, and went on to say “where are the peppers Peter Piper picked?”  I put the sheet in a page protector, and after we read the rhyme, Gwen circled all the Ps. 

Etc.
We went on a field trip with Daddy! Last year I got Gwen a pair of L. L. Bean ice skates at an end-of-season consignment sale and she finally got to use them.  She was so excited!  Josiah wasn’t allowed on the ice (?!), so he and I climbed the bleachers while Gwen and Daddy skated for about an hour.  

 

Bulletin Board

Book Basket
Theme/Vocab
Dirty Joe the Pirate
How I Became a Pirate
Roger the Jolly Pirate

Letter/Alphabet
When You Take a Pig to a Party
If You Give a Pig a Party
The Story of Ping
Piggybook
The Very Smart Pea and the Princess-To-Be
My “p” book
Toot & Puddle
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?
The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog!
Learn About Values – Patience
Platypus

Color
Black Cat
Black? White! Day? Night!

DVDs
Peter Pan

Linking Up…

Tot School  Fun Stuff Fridays

Gwen is 4 years old and Josiah is 2.

7 thoughts on “Preschool: P is for Pirate

  1. I’m checking in from 1+1+1=1 to your site for the first time. Love the Pirate theme, and the cute little pirate driving the fire truck! I’ll have to check out education.com. Thanks for all the great resources and sharing your family fun!

  2. Those tracer pages are actually part of Carisa’s (1+1+1) Raising Rock Stars pre-k program. They’re very similar to the Kumon style of tracing.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Comments are closed.