Fudge Babies

I just made these and had to share them with you! 

I love browsing cookbooks, tending to pour more over the desserts than anything else.  A recent check out from the library was Elana Amsterdam’s the Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook.  The recipes look really good, even though I’m not concerned with going gluten free or vegan – it’s just nice mixing up healthy recipes once in a while, trying new combinations and ingredients.  I decided to take a gander at her website, Elana’s Pantry, and have since bookmarked many of the recipes (Almond Joy Bars, anyone?). 

I saw this super-easy, healthy recipe for [gluten-free, raw, vegan] Fudge Babies and knew I had to try them.  I just so happened to have a container of Medjool dates in the fridge! 

The taste of dates doesn’t bother me, but for someone else who might not care for it (like Phil), you can’t even tell.  It just tastes like rich, chocolatey goodness.  I followed Elana’s version, which is slightly different from the original recipe and a host of variations that can be found at Chocolate-Covered Katie.

The only thing I did differently was add a spoonful of natural peanut butter to hold the ingredients together – not to mention the fact that I adore the combination of chocolate and peanut butter.

The only drawback?  The recipe makes a small batch.  Easily remedied! 


Yum.